Sunshine Coast Bridge Club

SCCBC logo

Welcome to Sunshine Coast Bridge Club.

President's Trophy 2019: The 2019 President's Trophy was held in November, with 30 pairs contending. Winners (pictured right top with committee member Gabrielle Elich) were Adrienne Kelly and Steve Brookes. Second place went to Rosemary Crowley and Richard Perry.

This event is scored on a handicap basis too, and handicap winners were Judith Slade - Dorothy Beil, and with with second place on handicap going to Gaye McAuliffe - Marion Bucens. See more... [posted Mon 18-Nov-19]

Novice Pairs Congress: Our 2019 Novice Pairs Congress was held on 10 November with 32 pairs from all over south-east Queensland contending. Winners (pictured) were club members Trish Merefield and Pauline Clayton.

As Club members, Trish and Pauline also received the Mary Murray Shield for Novices.

Many thanks to Steve as director, and the team of volunteers in the kitchen and bar. See more... [posted Mon 11-Nov-19]

EFTPOS facility now available: For the convenience of members the club has installed EFTPOS facilities. Initially the following rules will apply: Only Mastercard and Visa debit and credit cards can be accepted EFTPOS can be used only for membership and joining fees, the purchase of pre-paid game vouchers, entry fees for congresses, lesson course fees and purchase of books and lesson materialsA $10 minimum will apply Sorry, no cash out, no refunds. [posted Fri 8-Nov-19]

Pepe's 80th birthday: Another 80th birthday was celebrated this week. Pictured is Pepe Schwegler, cutting into the celebratory cake. [posted Tue 8-Oct-19]

Joan McPheat - QBA Life Member: This month, Joan McPheat was awarded life membership of the Qld Bridge Association in recognition of her many years of work for bridge in Queensland. She joins Reg Busch and a handful of other giants of bridge in Queensland who have received this honour.

Joan has been a major force behind our Wednesday supervised play session and the development of new players, and this contributes significantly to the growth of our Club. She was awarded life membership of SCCBC in recognotion of this role in 2015.

Click here for more details on the QBA web site. [posted Wed 14-Aug-19]

Auguest Teams Congress: Our August Teams Congress attracted 30 teams from all over and was won by the Richman team from Tasmania and the Gold Coast. Pictured are Sandra Richman, Lou Tillotson, Roger Weathered and Andrew Richman. Runners up were the Stacey team (Beverley Stacey - Alison Dawson - Richard Trollope - Richard Perry), and 3rd were the Stoneman team (Michael Stoneman - Val Roland - Marcel Hoevenaars - Mattie Baljet).

The B category prize was won by the Kenny team (John Kenny - Brian Cordiner - John Elich - Gabrielle Elich).

Many thanks to the members who help in the kitchen under the management of Sonia, and with those helping with caddyng, directing, dealing and entries. [posted Sun 4-Aug-19]

2019 Teams Championship: The 2019 Teams Championship was played over three Thursdays in July and 16 teams competed in full round robin.

Winners were the Martin team (pictured from left): Paul Maddigan, Lyn Martin, Vivienne Maddigan and Jim Martin, with runners up Malty team (Andrew Dunlop, Tony Walford, Alan Maltby, Kate Balmanno and John Nibbs). See more... [posted Thu 25-Jul-19]

Success in the ANC Butler Pairs: Club teacher Alison Dawson (pictured left at a congratulatory morning tea at our Club) played in the Women's Butler Pairs at the recent ANC in Melbourne and finished a very commendable 3rd place with her bridge partner Liz Zeller.

The ANC Butler Pairs events are held alongside the Australian National Championships every year and draw a very strong field made up of some of the best players in Australia. [posted Tue 23-Jul-19]

Birthday celebration: Pictured here is Judith McFadden who celebrated her birthday recently with a cake presented by the club. [posted Mon 8-Jul-19]

June Congress 2019: The 2019 June Congress was held 14-16 June.

We held a walk-in pairs session as a prelude on Friday afternoon. This was won by Neville Francis / Pat Bugler.

Saturday's Pairs event was won by Geoff Hart and David Harris (pictured top). The Category B prize was won by Andrea Smith / Kate Balmano, and the Category C prize was won by Barbara Dillner / Catherine Griffiths.

The Teams event on Sunday was won by the Bardon team which was made up of Jim Wallis and Toni Bardon who were attending their 31st consecutive Sunshine Coast June Congress, along with team-mates Neville Francis and Pat Bugler. Jim, Toni and Pat are pictures at bottom left, with club president Brian. The Category B prize went to the Avunduk team and the Scott team received an encouragement award.

Many thanks to Ursula as congress convenor and caddy Trish, and last but definitely not least to Moira and her helpers in the kitchen. See more... [posted Sat 15-Jun-19]

90th birthday celebration: Club Member Jenny Turner celebrated her 90 birthday at the club recetly. She is pictured here cutting into the cake. [posted Tue 16-Apr-19]

Graded Teams Congress: The 2019 Graded Teams was hosted by our club on 24 March 2019. A maximum field size of 32 teams competed, and played in 2 grades.

The A Grade was won by the Elich Team pictured (from left Anne Young, Gabrielle Elich, Alison Dawson and Fay Stanton). The B Grade was won by the Pawlyszyn team (Roman Pawlyszyn, Amanda Wilkinson, John Burt and Janice Little).

Many thanks to the army of helpers in the kitchen, bar and to the directors and caddy. See more... [posted Sun 24-Mar-19]

Presentation of Wilma Hiddins honour board: Peter Hiddins presented an honour board recording the names of our President's Trophy winners, in memory of his wife Wilma who passed away last year.

Pictured are Peter (right) and winners of the 2018 title, Tony Walford and Randall Rusk. [posted Fri 22-Mar-19]

Gold Coast Congress victories: Members Jane Clitheroe and Barbara Dillner (pictured below right) played at the 2019 Gold Coast Congress and won the Wednesday 0-50 Masterpoint Pairs.

Other notable performances were Gary Petterson and Laurie Bell (1st place Friday Novice Pairs) pictured right, Margaret and Don Robertson (2nd place Bobby Richman Restricted Pairs Group E), Ken Dawson and Andy Slater (2nd place Monday Butler), and Upasana Shanti and Lynda Laffan (1st place Tuesday 0-50 Masterpoint Pairs) [posted Sat 23-Feb-19]

Qld Senior Teams 2019: The 2019 Qld Senior Teams was hosted by our club on 2/3 February 2019. A total of 30 teams competed, including many from Brisbane and other areas.

The trophy was retained by last year's winners - the Francis Team pictured (Tony Hutton, Malcolm and Lyn Carter, missing Neville Francis). The trophy was present to the winners by Tom Strong, on behalf of the QBA. See more... [posted Mon 4-Feb-19]

Graded Zone Pairs: The Graded Zone Pairs was held on Sunday 9 December, with a record number of 68 pairs across 3 grades participating.

Grade A winners were Dick Trollope and Rosemary Crowley (pictured with convenor Tony Walford). The B Grade was won by George Kavanagh / Astrid Borchhardt and the C Grade by Cathy Clarke / Upasana Shanti.

Thanks to director Steve, caddies Cherie and Pauline, kitchen helpers John, Janice and others, and Tony as convenor. [posted Mon 10-Dec-18]

About our Club: The Sunshine Coast Contract Bridge Club is one of the top bridge clubs on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, and is centrally located at Buderim (see Google Maps - enter via Syd Lingard Drive). Nestled amongst tall gums, adjacent to the sports complex in Elizabeth Daniels Park, it is easily accessible from all parts of the Sunshine Coast, and has plenty of parking. [posted Thu 1-Jan-15]

(C) Altosoft and Sunshine Coast Bridge Club 2019
Site template developed by Peter Busch, Altosoft
and content managed by Sunshine Coast Bridge Club 
Current visitors: 15

Click here for Management log-in